Book Review (2): Life Together

Life Together by Dietrich Bonhoeffer

I originally reviewed this book almost six years ago in two parts, here and here.  It was much closer to an experiment in Christian community that was very painful for my wife and I.  I wanted to give the book another chance, now nearly 12 years distanced from that communal experience, to see if I could better appreciate what so many others have found in this book.

I don’t have as many objections as I did a few years back.  I’m much more comfortable with the idea that we as individuals can’t change other people (regardless of how much we – or they – would like to), only God can.  While I originally felt that he somewhat contradicted himself between his opening chapter and the remainder of the book, I feel less that way now.  Much of what he says is truly profound, and this may be a book that I reread regularly because of that.  It has a depth of experience and faith that is admirable and troubling, and I like that combination.

So my apologies to Dr. Bonhoeffer, and I look forward to continuing to learn and grow through your words.

Leave a Reply

