Partial Book Review: A Short History of Nearly Everything

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson

My wife is reading another of Bryson’s books, which was recommended to us by friends.  I haven’t finished A Short History of Nearly Everything yet, nor am I going to.  But that doesn’t mean it’s a bad book!

Bryson’s style is comfortable and engaging.  He makes otherwise drab material interesting, linking topics and individuals together in a way that makes you want to keep reading.  My only problem with the book is that I purchased it (at a used bookstore for $2!) not really knowing what it was about.  If you’re interested in the history and personalities of science, you’ll likely enjoy this book.  Less intimidating by far than individual biographies, this book weaves a narrative of key figures and key discoveries in various fields of scientific study.  If I didn’t have a reading queue a mile long already, I wouldn’t mind finishing this book.  But I don’t care enough about the subject matter to dilly dally over it.

I’m still interested in At Home: A Short History of Private Life, and hopefully I’ll be able to finish that one!

 

 

Leave a Reply

