Mea Culpa?

Having recently read Silence, I’ve been wrangling over whether or not to see the movie.   This essay should encourage me to do so.

My reasons for being wary of the movie are multiple.  I don’t consider myself a film buff.  The book was fascinating precisely because of the interior glimpses of the protagonist, and I’m not sure if that can or will translate onto screen.  There’s the unpleasantness of scenes depicting human suffering and cruelty – not in a popcorn-guzzling fake way, but actual, real human suffering and cruelty.

But as someone who frequently hears people lamenting about the state of our entertainment industry, and as someone certainly not immune to haranguing on the issue myself, I would do well to take this article’s point to heart.  Hollywood follows the money.  My money.  Perhaps I should be more willing to shell out to support Christian or ‘wholesome’ movies to encourage more of them to be made.

Or maybe I should just convince you to.

2 Responses to “Mea Culpa?”

  1. JP Cima Says:

    See it. It is refreshing to see a movie that grapples significantly with weighty issues of faith. Rodriguez and others are portrayed very sympathetically. You will have the same theological frustrations as you did with the book, but the fact that you are able to have weighty, significant theological issues with a film produced by a major Hollywood director is pretty awesome.

  2. Paul Nelson Says:

    Thanks for the prompting!

Leave a Reply

