Wet Bar Wednesday – Mezcal Negroni

Blessed as we are to live in the Southwestern US, we’re privileged to have access to citrus relatively easily this time of year.  A parishioner graciously gifted me with a basket of oranges from his tree, and I wanted to put them (or at least one of them!) to good use.

I’ve shied away from trying the Negroni because I’m not a gin fan.  Then I remembered this awesome little video that changed up the Negroni with mezcal instead of gin.  I decided to give that a shot.  And, I wanted an excuse to practice the little-used but oh-so-impressive art of flaming a citrus peel.  Someone has done this with tequila and dubbed it the Tegroni.  I don’t feel the need to call it a Mezgroni.

Though it’s tempting.

Mezcal Negroni

  • 1.5 oz mezcal
  • 1 oz Campari
  • 1 oz sweet vermouth
  • orange peel

 

Stir or shake the ingredients and pour into a glass over ice (a margarita or martini glass looks very nice, if you have one), and add the orange peel. You can also mix the ingredients with ice and then strain the drink to serve it (straight up).

I was very surprised at how much I like this drink.  It’s a fantastic balance of sweet and bitter and smokey that will keep your senses busy throughout the drink.  It’s visually very appealing as well, and if you can flame the citrus peel also, the enjoyment factor goes through the roof as far as I’m concerned.

Different recipes argue about whether the three liquids should be in equal amounts, or whether the base liquor (here mezcal, but otherwisse gin) should be prominent by 50% or more.  I liked the above ratios, but I’ll try the equal amounts next time.  Either way, enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

