Wet Bar Wednesday – Avocado Margarita

Long-time readers will know that I have a special fondness for  tequila and the cocktail most associated with it – the margarita.  In the past couple of years I’ve posted three different margarita recipes (traditional, cactus, and raspberry).  I’ve experimented with probably half a dozen more recipes I haven’t bothered to write down, including watermelon, mango and applesauce.  It’s a great drink.

My youngest son’s Father’s Day gift to me this year was a bartending book.  I’m not sure if that means I’m winning or failing at being a father, but it is what it is.  The recipe he was most curious about (since he’s my bartending buddy) is the avocado margarita, and he’s been on me to make it ever since.  I’ll admit that I have been reluctant.  I love avocado, but in a cocktail?  I dunno.  Well, I finally made it.

  • 1.5 oz tequila (blanca/plata/silver if you like bite, reposado or anejo if you prefer smoother)
  • 1 oz lime juice (freshly squeezed if possible)
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice (again, freshly squeezed is best)
  • 1/4 cup ripe avocado
  • 1 oz light cream or 1/2 and 1/2
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • lime wedge & avocado slice for garnish

Throw all of the ingredients except for the garnish into a blender and blend until smooth and creamy.  I didn’t add ice into mine before blending, but you certainly can if you like the slushy-consistency margarita.  I rimmed my margarita glass with lemon and sugar, and this is probably a better option than salt.

I think the taste is too lemony, and in the future I’ll cut back on the amount of lemon juice.  I expected it to be a bit sweeter.  As is, it is very creamy and smooth.  Avocado has a pretty neutral taste in my opinion, and the dominant flavor is the citrus.  I used anejo tequila for a smoother finish.

avomarg.jpg

It might take some getting used to.  The further I got into the drink the more I enjoyed it.  I had some left over so I’ll taste it again tonight to see if I like it even more.  It’s a great use for ripe avocados if you have some lying around.  I paired it with my home-made guacamole and some carnitas hand-rolled burritos.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

