Wet Bar Wednesday – Port Flip

I think I’m giving up on the whole flip thing.

I tried a second flip cocktail – this one using port instead of bourbon.  I was not impressed.  I’m just not a fan of creamy drinks, and I think something about the egg increases the viscosity to an unpleasant level.  I don’t mind a white russian every now and then.  But I would actively seek to avoid the whiskey and port flip in the future.

Port is a fortified wine that originated in Portugal.  While there are plenty of fortified wines from all over the world now, in Europe, only those from Portugal are supposed to be referenced as port.  In the US there are no restrictions on this, so you might want to check the country of origin if you are a stickler for details.  Fortified wine has additional spirits added to it to increase the sweetness and alcohol content.  Traditionally, port is fortified with aguardiente.

  • 1.5 oz port (I used ruby, but I’m sure you could use tawny)
  • 2 tsp light cream (I used whole milk)
  • 1 tsp powdered sugar
  • 1 egg (I only used the yolk, but I can’t imagine using the whole egg would make it better!)
  • Dash of nutmeg

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker (with or without ice) and shake vigorously for 30-seconds to a minute.  Strain or pour into a glass with ice.  If y’all enjoy this, more power to you.  I, for one, won’t be trying any more flips.  This one is good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

