Wet Bar Wednesday – Whiskey Flip

My wife really enjoys Pisco Sours.  Which means that we end up with an egg yolk that the cheapskate in me doesn’t just want to toss out.  My go-to solution has been the oddly-named Marlon Brando’s Pueblo Flip.  But I wanted to try something different.  My mobile bartending app, Mr.Bartender, listed a variety of options, including the whiskey flip.

As a refresher, a drink with ‘flip’ in the title means that it incorporates an egg somehow. Almost always uncooked.  Sometimes just the yolk.  Sometimes just the white.  Sometimes all of it.

  • 1.5 oz whiskey
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 tsp powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp light cream
  • 1.5 oz nutmeg

Add all the ingredients to a shaker.  Shake vigorously with ice and strain into a glass (or serve over ice, whichever you prefer).  I only used the yolk, not the whole egg.  I used whole milk instead of light cream.  I didn’t have nutmeg.  I subbed honey for powdered sugar.  Adaptability, baby.

It’s a sweet drink, and I won’t say that it’s one of my favorites.  I generally avoid creamy-style drinks, they’re just not my thing.  But it might be yours, and if so, enjoy!

 

 

One Response to “Wet Bar Wednesday – Whiskey Flip”

  1. Wet Bar Wednesday – Port Flip | Living Apologetics Says:

    […]  I don’t mind a white russian every now and then.  But I would actively seek to avoid the whiskey and port flip in the […]

Leave a Reply

