Wet Bar Wednesday – Irish Buck

Last Thursday was St. Patrick’s Day.  While I’m not Irish and I don’t own a stitch of green clothing and hate beer, I decided there had to be cocktail alternatives that would allow me to enjoy a bit o’ the Irish all the same.  This is the first of two I tried that night.

Frankly, I hate the name.  Irish Buck (or Bushmill’s Irish Buck, if you want to make it more brand-specific).  It’s a lot simpler to think of it as the Irish version of a Moscow Mule, and so I like the idea of renaming it the Dublin Mule.  That’s probably what I’ll refer to it as in my circles from now on, since the world of drink names is pretty fluid (hahaha – how clever!).

Irish Buck /Dublin Mule

  • 2 oz Irish Whiskey (I used Jameson’s, but use whatever you like)
  • 1 oz lime juice (adjust the amount to your preferred lime-y-ness)
  • 1/2 bottle of ginger beer (or ginger ale)

Combine ingredients over ice and stir to mix.  I used the copper Moscow Mule mugs as it seemed so appropriate.  It’s very smooth and tasty, equally as refreshing as a Moscow Mule!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

