Alma Mater

I don’t really have strong affinities for my undergraduate alma mater.  It was a huge school when I attended, and it’s larger now.  I was a commuter student, so life didn’t revolve exclusively around campus.  I worked one-two jobs throughout college to help pay for my expenses, which further reduced my campus experience to pretty much just attending classes.  And playing pool.  Lots and lots and eventually too much pool.  So, when you consider that my undergraduate experience stretched across 13 years, you’d think I’d be more attached than I am.

But I’m not.

But it is cool to see the school doing interesting things.  This is one of them – a virtual museum centered around Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, in an effort to generate discussion and interaction on the very-much-related topics of ethics and science.  When I was teaching undergraduate students science fiction literature, this was one of my favorite choices to read, as it deals with profound issues that go beyond the this-is-cool-lets-see-if-we-can-do-it attitude that appears (from the outside) to pervade some aspects of scientific R&D.

I hope to keep up on this venture and participate in it.  Somebody remind me in three years when it is slated to open!

Leave a Reply

