Wet Bar Wednesday – Suburban

I was excited to find a web page devoted to “whiskey drinks for gentlemen”.  While I recognized most of them (and think my recipes are better on more than a few of them!), this one caught my eye and I couldn’t immediately find more information on it.

The Suburban

  • 1.5 oz whiskey
  • .5 oz dark rum
  • .5 oz port
  • dash of Angostura bitters
  • dash of orange bitters

Mix and pour over ice or mix with ice and serve neat, however you prefer.

However, I didn’t prefer this drink at all.  It has similar overtones to an Old Fashioned but the dark rum really overpowered the other flavors for me, and not in a good way.

As a consolation prize, though, my wife picked up a bottle of seasonal Ace’s Hard Pumpkin Cider at Trader Joe’s.  We tried it a year or two ago and really liked it but they ran out of stock pretty early in the season.  While I’m generally not a fan of seasonal hoopla (the result of being raised in the desert, I’m sure), this is really a delicious ale with a little pumpkin-y and nutmeg spice to it.

It’s nice when one drink flops but you have a trusted backup.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

