Why Not a Hate Crime?

Curious that this report never once mentions the phrase hate crime.  This is a sister congregation in my denomination.  I don’t know the pastor, but I feel for him and for his parishioners.  I wonder whether, if this was a synagogue or a mosque, the story would have treated this as a hate crime instead of vandalism.  Actually I find the word vandalism to be horribly inappropriate as well.  This clearly isn’t just vandalism, but outright theft.  If a synagogue or mosque was repeatedly targeted like this, I suspect there would pretty quickly be widespread anger.

But it’s just a church, right?  We don’t care about those anymore, I guess.

One Response to “Why Not a Hate Crime?”

  1. sarahsjoys Says:

    :(

Leave a Reply

