Wet Bar Wednesday – Hurricane

I was happily reunited with my beloved shaker on Sunday after I left it at my last bartending gig in March.  I’ve had it for years and appreciate the tight seal it keeps when shaking almost anything (the exception being pisco sours – I suspect that the egg whites being shaken somehow releases gas that push the seal apart, but I have no chemistry background to verify this and am too lazy to Google it).  I’ve made do with a smaller, cheaper shaker of late and it has been traumatizing.

My old shaker also has a variety of drinks etched on the side, and a rotating outer sleeve that allows me to align a particular drink name at the top, and have the ingredients and proportions revealed below.  So it was that I decided to make a hurricane, albeit slightly modified.

Hurricane

  • 1 oz white rum
  • 1 oz spiced rum
  • 1 Tbsp passion fruit syrup
  • 2 tsp lime juice

Not having passion fruit syrup on hand, I substituted some huckleberry liquor I hadn’t used in a while.  Overall it was a well balanced drink.  If you like rum, you’ll probably like this.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

