Wet Bar Wednesday – Midori

In my continuing efforts to expand my drink repertoire while using rarely-accessed liquors in my bar, I decided the other night to look for drink recipes that utilize Midori.  Midori is a liquor that originated in Japan, but now is also manufactured elsewhere in the world.  It is distinguished by its bright, light-green hue, and its distinctive sweet melon taste.  Midori is a relatively new liquor, launched in 1978.  Because it is such a sweet liquor it is usually part of mixed drinks.  I opted for two different recipes.

Alligator

  • 1 part Midori
  • 2 parts Orange Juice
  • Lemon juice to taste

Probably named for the color of an alligator, this is a rather sweet drink.  I tempered it with 1/3 – 1/2 parts lemon juice in order to take the very sweet edge off.

Far East

  • 1 part Midori
  • 1 part Shochu
  • 1 part lemon juice

I happened to have an old bottle of shochu on hand, so I figured I’d be killing two birds with one stone.  Or killing myself with two extremely well-aged, opened bottles of liquor!  This drink has a brighter green hue to it than the alligator, since there’s nothing other than the lemon juice to temper the Midori’s green-ness.  The lemon juice does a very good job of dulling the sweetness level.  The lemon also softens the very melony flavor of the Midori, and visa versa, making for a drink that is a bit on the sour side but very bright on the tongue.

Overall, Midori is a liquor I haven’t used very much, but may play around with a bit more to look for good ways of utilizing it.  As always, suggestions are welcome!

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Wet Bar Wednesday – Midori”

  1. Jonesy Says:

    LOVE THE ALLIGATOR, WHEN ARE YOU GOIMG TO DELIVER?

Leave a Reply

