Wet Bar Wednesday – Sazerac

I had forgotten that I had tried a sazerac not quite a year ago.  But I’m fairly positive that what I had back then was not nearly as good as the ones I have enjoyed the past couple of days on a mini-vacation with relatives!

This is the recipe that we’ve been using, and it’s fantastic:

  • 2 oz rye whiskey (Bulleit rye is what we’ve been using)
  • 2 dashes orange bitters
  • 2 dashes Peychaud’s bitters
  • 1/4 oz simple syrup (we’re using a toasted fennel-infused agave which is phenomenal!)
  • Spray of absinthe
  • Twist of lemon peel or lemon zest

Mix the first four ingredients in a shaker.  In the glass you’ll be serving in, put some absinthe in an atomizer (a spray bottle, basically) and spritz the inside of the glass once (or maybe twice) with absinthe.  Then pour the rye mixture into the glass and add some ice.  Add the lemon peel/zest.  Serve and enjoy.

The various flavors and smells of this drink are just amazing, and the interplay of flavors is outstanding.  Enjoy!

One Response to “Wet Bar Wednesday – Sazerac”

  1. Wet Bar Wednesday – Absinthe Flip | Living Apologetics Says:

    […] I have this bottle of absinthe sitting here that I bought to make Sazeracs.  And since it’s only used as a rinse (or in my case, an atomizer spray), I don’t use […]

Leave a Reply

