Wet Bar Wednesday – Quebec

Not the city.

So I’m trying to develop a better appreciation for gin.  As I think I’ve mentioned, it’s not my favorite liquor by a long shot, and the only one that really has tasted half-way good to me is Hendricks, which is a fairly different gin recipe relying on a lot of cucumber influence.

I accidentally bought some gin at Trader Joe’s some time back, forgetting that it was the scotch that a buddy of mine had recommended to me (another liquor I haven’t spent much time with).  So I sat down with my large bartender’s guide and found this recipe:

Quebec

  • 1 part gin
  • 1 part whiskey
  • 1 part lemon juice
  • 1 dash bitters

Shake everything together with ice and strain into a glass (or leave the ice in).  It was really, really sour and a bit bitter – the whiskey didn’t nearly cancel out the lemon’s sourness.  I added a bit of agave sweetener and it was much, much better.  Maybe you’ll like yours more sour, but hopefully either way, you’ll be able to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

