Wet Bar Wednesday – Nuts ‘n Berries

I’ve accumulated some interesting liquors over the years.  Some are gifted to me by people who know of my hobby.  Others I inherit as people move or re-evaluate their priorities in life.  Some I purchase for curiosity.  You never know what is going to come in handy.

Tonight as we tried to figure out what the nightcap should be, I grabbed the stately bottle of Frangelico sitting on a nearby shelf.  I’ve had it for years but couldn’t remember if or when I’d actually tasted it.  Frangelico is a relatively new liquor – at least as a brand.  The bottle is cool-looking and it is a popular ingredient with wintery, coffee/cocoa kinds of drinks.

But not being big coffee drinkers, I found this alternative use, aptly called Nuts ‘n Berries:

  • 1 oz Frangelico
  • 1 oz Chambord
  • 3 oz milk (some alternative recipes call for a smaller amount of half and half or cream)

Combine in a shaker and shake or stir well and then pour over ice.  It’s delicious, tasting exactly like you would expect a drink of this name to taste.  Chambord is a raspberry liquor.  Frangelico is Italian, Chambord is French, the milk is American.  For the span of a drink, there was world peace.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

