Wet Bar Wednesday – Mexican Flag

More than one person has questioned the wisdom of a weekly post dedicated to alcohol.  Is this setting a good example as a pastor?  Will people get the wrong ideas?  What about the folks out there who have a history (or a present) of alcohol abuse?  Is this really something a Christian should be encouraging?

All good questions and all things I have given and continue to give thought to.  I think about it knowing the many people who have come into my life over the last four years with addiction histories.  I am impressed by those who have many years of sobriety behind them, as several of my pool-shooting associates do.  I’m impressed by those who are in the midst of establishing sobriety, some of them counting days, others weeks, and some months since their last drink.  To make the changes they are making is admirable and inspiring on so many levels.  And I think that every last one of them is clearly able to distinguish what might be OK for others, but isn’t OK for themselves.  Each day of sobriety teaches them that more clearly.

I think about one of my pool buddies who shared on Monday night that he has almost 20 years of sobriety behind him.  He talked about how he used to come into the bar – the very bar we were shooting pool in – decades ago.  He always came in first thing in the morning, and the bartender knew to have four drinks lined up and ready on the bar when he came in – two Mexican Flags, and two Rusty Nails.  The bartender also knew that, in the time it would take my friend to down those four drinks, he needed to have another four lined up and ready to go.

This is how he would start his days, many years ago.  

After two decades of sobriety, he seems to have no problem drinking soda or iced tea as he shoots pool with a group of guys kicking back beers and Jack & Cokes.

But his story prompted me to research what a Mexican Flag was, and tonight I tried one.  I didn’t expect to like it, but I was a little surprised.  It was mostly palatable, the various flavors cancelling one another out soas to leave a parting impression of minty cough syrup, but not overwhelmingly so.  

This is a layered drink.  The idea is to pour the three separate ingredients carefully, so that they form layers over one another.  

  • 1 part grenadine
  • 1 part green creme de menthe
  • 1 part tequilla (silver/plata is probably best, but I used anejo anyways)

I began with the grenadine, pouring that into the bottom of a glass.  Then, using a spoon turned upside down with the tip up against the inside side of the glass, carefully pour the creme de menthe.  If you do it carefully (and this may require a bit of practice), it should layer itself over the grenadine.  Finally, repeat the above procedure with the tequila.  If you’re skilled (and of course, I am), you have three layers, representing the three colors of the flag of Mexico.

You can sip the drink, which mixes the ingredients.  As I mentioned, I thought it would be awful as I really don’t care for creme de menthe.  I was tempted to substitute Midori (melon-flavored liquor) or sour apple liquor, and I may this week and  let you know how it goes.  But I was pleased that the three strong flavors (grenadine is almost sickly sweet, tequila is the exact opposite, and creme de menthe is very minty) cancel each other out by and large, resulting in a sweet but not overpowering flavor, finishing with a minty aftertaste.

Give it a try, if it’s safe for you to do so.  If it isn’t, for goodness sake don’t.  If you’re appalled at  pastor and a Christian enjoying alcohol, I’d refer you to John 2:1-11.  And we could get into a discussion about this, if you like.  

Until then, enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

