Wet Bar Wednesday – Raspberry Lime Margaritas

Thanks to my old friend (old in that we’ve known each other for 15 years or so.  Not that she’s old.  Do I look suicidal!?!) Sarah for sharing a drink recipe she has experimented with.  I haven’t had a chance to try it out personally, but I’ll vouch for her excellent culinary and bartending instincts.  You can peruse her other creations (as well as her miscellaneous thoughts on life and family and other stuff) at her blog here.  You will immediately note that she takes the time to include gorgeous photographs for her recipes.  Unlike me.  

Because she is a far better person than I am.  I admit it.
Moving on.  
Raspberry Lime Margarita
  • Mix up some raspberry-lime puree.  How, you ask?  Glad you asked!
    • 1.5 generous cups frozen (thawed) or fresh raspberries
    • Juice of 7 limes
    • 3 Tbsp sugar
    • Puree this all together and then strain through a sieve to remove the seeds
    • This should make enough for eight margaritas
  • Mix up some margaritas.  How, you ask?  Glad you asked!
    • 1 part raspberry-lime puree
    • 1 part silver/plata tequila
    • 1/2 part triple sec
    • 1/2 part Chambord
    • Shake together ingredients and pour into margarita glasses rimmed with sugar
I’m willing to bet these are pretty freakin’ delicious.  Try ’em out and let me know! 
4 Responses to “Wet Bar Wednesday – Raspberry Lime Margaritas”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Haha! Thanks Paul! I won’t admit to my age…but I guess my gray hair does that for me. ;) This is a recipe I’m playing with to add to the blog but am looking for feedback before I do. So if you (or anyone else) tries and has suggestions, let me know. I usually do 1.5 oz tequila and raspberry lime puree to .5 oz of the other two. I strain the seeds because I am a big baby and don’t like seeds floating in my drinks. blech. You’re probably just more mature than me and so don’t mind pesky things like seeds or pulp. :D

  2. Paul Nelson Says:

    “Mature”.  I think you just called me old!

    I don’t care for the seeds either, which is why I don’t mess with raspberries much.  I’ll try to get this investigated properly by next week.  If I can keep my walker in working order

  3. Sarah Says:

    I also forgot to say, “Thanks for the plug and the kind words!”
    Oh…and I hear that tennis balls on your walker help make sure you don’t slip. ;)
    I can kid you about that because I’m quite sure I’ve got far more gray hair than you do!

  4. Paul Nelson Says:

    Happy to give you the plug – keep up the good work!

    I can pretty much assure you I have more gray hair than you.  Though you may have more hair than me, in which case the whole issue gets pretty complicated.

Leave a Reply

