Wet Bar Wednesday – Slushies!

Thanks to my folks for this recipe (hi Mom & Dad!) that would be perfect for a hot summer day.  It’s also a memory jogger for me.  One of my earliest drinking memories (yes, I waited until 21 to drink, with only one or two exceptions, if  memory serves me correctly) was of a slushie similar to the one below which used rum instead of vodka.  My buddy Scott’s parents made up a batch of this from time to time and I always loved it – probably in no small part because the summers were brutally hot and this was deliciously cold!

Lemon Tea Slush
  • 5 cups of water
  • 2 green tea bags
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 12-oz can of frozen lemonade or limeade concentrate (I think you could use any flavor though, so feel free to experiment!)
  • 1 cup of vodka
  • 1 liter bottle of sparkling water
  • Appropriate fruit slices to garnish
Boil the water and steep the two tea bags in it for ten minutes.  Stir in the sugar after removing the tea bags and allow the liquid to cool for 20 minutes or so.
Now mix all of the ingredients together (except the garnishes) in a 3-qt covered container.  Cover and place in the freezer.  The mixture won’t freeze into solid ice because of the alcohol.  If you want to increase the slushie factor, you can stir the mixture with a fork every few hours or so until it has frozen.  Freeze for at least 24 hours.
To serve, scoop 2/3 cup of the slushie mixture into a glass and pour sparkling water over it.  Garnish with fruit as desired.  Frankly, I’d just skip the sparkling water and enjoy the slushie straight, but then again, I’m not very refined.  Enjoy according to your particular level of refinement!
2 Responses to “Wet Bar Wednesday – Slushies!”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Oh my goodness!! What a blast from the past!!! My best friend’s grandparents used to make this in Iowa. I haven’t made this in YEARS. Thanks for the blast from the past. I will have to make some this summer. :)

  2. Paul Nelson Says:

    I know – I’m looking forward to playing with this recipe this summer as well!

Leave a Reply

